Surrounded by strangers I thought were my friends

2 Aug

Here is my problem: I have a friend that I have known for a long time but lately I have started to think that it is not a good friendship. Moreoften than not after I see them I usually feel quite negative about myself due to something they have said. They are the kind of person that can take any good news you might possibly have and put a negative spin on it.

I have always thought a good friend is the sort of person that knows how busy life can get and understands when you don’t have the time to catch up. A good friendship is one where you can go a long time without seeing each other but when you do catch up things are just the same if not better than they were last time. This is not that sort of friend. This sort of friend is quite demanding of time, and routinely gets annoyed when you are unavailable.

But the thing that gets me most is that I lived away from Albury for four years, I tried to get home about once every 2 months and usually made the effort to catch up with this friend. But not once in the entire four years did she come and visit me. Now I realise, given the paragraph above that this might seem slightly hypocritical… but not once in four years? Come on!

I am now the only one out of our highschool friendship group that keeps in contact with them, the others have given up for the reason mentioned above. But lately it is becoming really tough and IĀ feel quite torn. How do you cease a friendship you have had years, more importantly how would you cope with the guilt over ceasing that friendship. Should I keep in contact with them because I feel obligated? Or should I do what’s best for me?

4 Responses to “Surrounded by strangers I thought were my friends”

  1. jentopia August 3, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    Using song lyrics as titles? HMMMMMM.

    You will run out of songs soon enough then you won’t be able to blog anymore *crosses arms* HMMMMM.

  2. chels August 24, 2009 at 4:54 am #

    life is happier with out guilt

  3. janeisi March 26, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    am having same issue, too. at some point, we just need to realize when things are worth fighting for or when to let it go (e.g. too much time/events have happened/passed). it depends on how strong the friendship really was (as opposed to how strong you perceived it to be). in my case, i’ve chosen to let it go.

    • shellbell43 March 30, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

      good on you :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

