Archive | 9:42 pm

The internet doesn’t weigh anything!

30 Mar

I am really enjoying my new job as IT support at a local school. It’s part IT and part clerical, so in the morning I am doing things like putting together the school newsletter, updating the software that the school uses and answering the phone. In the afternoon’s I am slowly plodding through an evergrowing list of IT issues that the teachers are experiencing. Later on in the year I will be looking running some education sessions on things like wiki’s, webquests and smartboards.

I like the work, it’s flexible, I can pick and choose what I want to tackle on a given day, and I am finding that the teacher’s are appreciative of the help I am offering.

It still amazes me how little some people know about IT and using computers. PeopleĀ seem to be scared of it and find it intimidating, whereas I find that most of ITĀ is trial and error and experimenting and pretending you know what you are doing.

Overall, I feel useful, like I have a purpose. All I want now is to combine it with casual teaching next term and I will be feeling pretty set for a while.